100% Whole Wheat Bread

What with one thing and another I fell out of my bread making rhythm sometime during the past few weeks. This morning I set out to correct this but then realized I probably needed to wash my bread bowl. Now, this may startle you, but I have not washed my bread bowl since January! This is not, I hasten to add, neglect: the idea is that once you finish with one batch, you leave a little dough behind and mix your new batch right in the bowl. It’s a lazy way of adding a little sour-dough flavour to the loaf, and it works perfectly. The bowl of dough lives in the fridge and I use and replenish regularly, so all was fine. But after a few weeks of no baking I thought I should probably start with a clean bowl. The perfect time to try a new loaf from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. Where bread making is concerned, I love the idea of habit and rhythm and I’m likely to always make the same kind of bread unless an occasion just such as this comes along! I’m making a %100 whole wheat loaf. I’m generally drawn to bread with few ingredients (water, yeast, salt and flour) but though this requires some milk, honey and oil, I do like the idea of a good whole wheat loaf. It’s rising as a type, so we shall see how it turns out!

1 Comment

Filed under food

One response to “100% Whole Wheat Bread

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 100% Whole Wheat Bread « Nettle's Notes -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

