The Last Harvest

100_3405

Yesterday I went over to the allotment to harvest the last of the vegetables. Strictly speaking, there are still some brussels sprouts on their stocks, so we’ll hopefully get a few more, but in general the garden is looking pretty tired. I picked a good number of brussels sprouts which I made into a vegetable stir-fry for supper. Also a few more turnips and pieces of broccoli (those brocs just keep on stubbornly producing!) The cabbages, alas, were a right off as they were absolutely decimated by slugs and bugs. Not sure exactly why, but to be fair I sort of gave up on them. Anyway, I think for such a small garden maybe it makes the most sense to be growing things to be enjoyed through the summer – we can always get local cabbages, and they last for ever.  Soon it will be time to put the garden to bed. I’m not quite sure what needs to be done and whether I need to pull things up or let them rot down, but I’m sure we’ll figure it out. Next year (if we are once again given the space) will have to be different since we grew a large number of Brassica plants, and I know it is not good to grow them where Brassica have been planted the year before. So we’ll have to think of some different veggies, and it will be a whole new experiment.

100_3409

 

Leave a comment

Filed under food

Leave a Reply

