Tulips in the Window

Tulips for “no reason”. Lucky me!

If you’re paying attention you probably noticed that MANY of my photos are shot in this window. The neighbours must wonder why I’m always at the window with a camera. Taking photos inside is a never-ending quest for light, which leads to all sorts of peculiar set-ups. I am slowly becoming more acquainted with the workings, or “moods” of our digital camera, although mostly I just take a lot of photos and hope for the best! I take pains to set up nice photos but what you don’t see are all the odd arrangements necessary to make them possible. Having no tripod, chairs and books or shelves are pressed into service to steady my camera, and I’m often dragging them around for this purpose. Or kneeling on the counter to get a good angle. All this to say that when I find a “sweet spot” where I know I’ll have enough light I return to it again and again. And I suppose it’s oddly fitting that spot is the kitchen counter, around which so much of my making revolves! (Above, you can just see the tell-tale sprinkling of flour on the counter from the morning’s bread making.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

