The Weekly Soup: Red (or purple) Cabbage

Ok. So first let me say that purple soup cannot be made to look attractive in a photo. Of if it can, I at least could not achieve it! So while I feel that a blog post is not really a blog post without a photo, I don’t have one to share. This could be a flaw in The Weekly Soup “feature” plan. What I can tell you is that this week’s soup was still very tasty and I’m glad I gave it a go! A perfect winter soup. It is very simple and uses few ingredients, and the sort of ingredients you are likely to have lying around. I was nervous about the raisins but I think they add a little something.

Red Cabbage Soup from Foods of Spry’s Field by The Urban Farm Museum Society

1 cabbage

2-3 onions

1 cup raisins

1/2 cup barley, uncooked

water or stock

Chop onion and cabbage. Put everything above in a pot and cover generously with water or stock. Simmer for 20 minutes or until cabbage is faded.

Then add:

2 cups tomatoes, canned or frozen

1 Tbsp vinegar

1 apple, chopped

Simmer for a further 20 minutes. Season and enjoy. It may not be pretty but it taste good!

(Next post, I promise, will not be food!)

Leave a comment

Filed under food, The Weekly Soup

Leave a Reply

