The Weekly Soup: Improvised Black Bean

This week I bring “Improvised Black Bean Soup”, which as the name suggest, I just invented. I suppose a lot of my cooking is like this anyway. Normally my soup is just whatever I have to put in it but  for this “feature” I’ve been trying to broaden my experience by trying a few recipes. Yesterday I had some black beans but found myself lacking the ingredients that most recipes required for a black bean soup, so I just struck out on my own. Unfortunately, I was using dried black beans that I soaked and cooked before adding to the soup, and completely forgot to take any sort of measurement! I would say I used about a mug full of dried beans which probably amounted to the same as a standard can (at least around here!) of black beans. I know I may not be helping much! But the good thing with soup is that you can fudge the measurements so just use as many beans as you want/have, and adjust the liquid accordingly. Same thing goes for the rest of the ingredients. We loved this soup, if I do say so myself, so I know I’ll be making it again, and I’ll try to remember to take better notes!

Improvised Black Bean Soup

–  1 1/2 large onions, chopped (I had a half kicking around….1 would do)

– 2 cloves garlic, chopped

– 1 carrot, chopped

– 1 potato, chopped

– 2 tbsp olive oil

Mix olive oil and veggies in large pot and cover. “Sweat” on low heat for ten minutes, shaking pot occasionally to prevent sticking.

Add:

– Black beans , cooked

– 1 796 ml can of chopped tomatoes

– 2 tbsp cumin

– 5 slices of pickled jalapeno peppers, chopped.

– approx. 4 cups vegetable stock, or mixture of vegetable stock and water.

– salt and pepper

Simmer this for about 25 minutes or until potato and carrot are cooked, then blend if desired. Serve topped with yogurt/sour cream and grated cheese. The soup is comfortingly thick and the spicy kick is very warming!

1 Comment

Filed under food, The Weekly Soup

One response to “The Weekly Soup: Improvised Black Bean

  1. Hmm… pickled jalapeno pepper? Wow. I love black beans!

Leave a Reply

