First Foray into Stop-Motion Animation!

Sometimes what you need to do has nothing at all to do with what you SHOULD be doing. This was the case yesterday when I suddenly found myself totally enamoured with the stop-motion animation. My initial investigation probably began at least borderline legitimately as I was considering possible project extensions for kids art projects, but very quickly became just about me having fun. Once I had looked at an unhealthy amount of YouTube videos I was determined to have a go! I used a digital camera, iPhoto and iMovie. This was done incredibly quickly (well, as quickly as you can shoot 59 photos) and I didn’t spend much time on set up. I was so eager I apparently didn’t bother to check it the camera was even level! The process was pretty simple although I am unfamiliar with iMovie so that part took me a little longer. So, without further ado, I give you my very first stop-motion animation: The Shy Hippo!

I think I’m hooked. It is going to take a massive effort to focus on anything else today!

2 Comments

Filed under art

2 responses to “First Foray into Stop-Motion Animation!

  1. Carel

    This is amazing. I don’t think anything more needs to be done in film for the next decade. I think this is so good it can’t actually qualify as a guilty pleasure…

  2. Pingback: More Stop-Motion Animation « Nettle's Notes

Leave a Reply

