A Quilting Experiment

When the most recent addition of Selvedge arrived this week I was taken with an image of a quilt on the last page. I liked the 3D effect created by the pattern.

I’ve always wanted to give quilting a go so I started a little project using two pairs of old jeans (one dark, one light) and some scrap fabric. This should be an interesting project because

a) I have no idea what I’m doing and am just making it up. I figure that is in large part how I learned to knit so I may as well give this a go.

b) I’m not sure what I’m making! Obviously something small – perhaps a cushion cover, or  a wrap for knitting needles….. I’ll see how it goes.

I’m sure it makes the most sense to sew up all the squares and then assemble but I should probably try assembling a few, just to see how it works. At the moment I seem to be working with a blue pallet though that may also change as I go along. So the whole thing will be an experiment!

Leave a comment

Filed under making

Leave a Reply

