Blackberries (and apples)

My sister and I engaged in some serious blackberry picking this weekend at Good Cheer. Good thing we had boots – the grass is always wet in the mornings.

It’s prickly business, but it’s worth it. You can fill a pot like this in no time.

They ripen so fast, we have to have plans for them. This weekend we made blackberry jam. I also collected the windfall apples and we made blackberry and apple “butter”. (Fruit butter is a thick spread.)

And I came home with a container full of berries and a bag of apples that I have to deal with today. I’m looking around for recipes…

1 Comment

Filed under food, gardening, making

One response to “Blackberries (and apples)

  1. Ann

    Hi, I just dropped by your blog and I too have been busy making blackberry jam. I am out every day picking the berries – there are so many of them – and a I love eating them. I usually have 1lb of fruit to 1lb of sugar (I buy the jam sugar which already has pectin added). Sprinkle the sugar over the berries – quick stir – cover and leave for a few hours or overnight – the juices will start to run out.
    Then like magic just bring to the boil for about 10 minutes – test for setting and then pour into clean, warm dry jars.
    Seal and label.

    I also like to roast blackerries.
    Pre-heat the oven to Gas 6/200C
    Place blackberries on a baking tray
    Sprinkle over some sugar and roast for about 20 minutes. Leave to cool. Serve with cream, ice-cream, natural yoghurt or whatever you like.
    Enjoy your blackerries.

Leave a Reply

