The Pasty

Let me say a word about the pasty.  I know that in the world of cuisine England has not been held up as a great leader, I think it’s fair to say, and the poor pasty has been much maligned. I however, am a big fan. The pasty was always a big part of our visits to Devon and we took advantage of their availability by having one on almost a daily basis.Well, maybe not quite, but I would have been happy if we did!  For me, as a vegetarian, it’s the Cheese and Onion Pasty, and I think it’s the perfect comfort food.

I made some pasties last night and a few more (with the left-overs) this morning. I was just going to share the link to the recipe I used but then realized that I used bits and piece of different recipes, so I’ll try to sketch it out here. It made 6 large pasties.

CHEESE AND ONION PASTIES

Short Crust Pastry

3 cups flour

6 oz butter, room temperature (you can use lard and butter if you want, but I only ever have butter in the house)

1 tsp salt

little bit of water

Make the pastry. I followed these instructions. Allow to chill for 30 minutes. Pre-heat over to 400 F.

Filling

Mix the following together:

3 medium potatoes, cut into very small pieces

1 large onion or two small, cut very small

grated cheddar cheese – I can’t tell you how much but just add as much as you want/have.

salt and pepper

Assembly

Divide the dough into 6 pieces. On a floured surface, roll out one piece of dough and use a saucer to cut a perfect circle (Mine was about 7 inches). Place some of the filling on one side of the pastry. You will get a hang on how much to use. You don’t want to over-fill or it will be difficult to close.

Dip your finger in water and run it round the edge of the pastry, and then fold over and seal by pressing with a fork. Then fold over the sealed edge like this.

Place the finished pasty on a floured baking sheet. Cut two small steam holes in the top and brush with milk.

Finish making the rest of the pasties and bake for 40 – 45 minutes. You can use any left over pastry and filling to make mini pasties, just don’t bake them as long, obviously.

Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under food

3 responses to “The Pasty

  1. I can never resist the combination of dough and savory filling, but I tend to make the same empanada recipe over and over. I will be trying these this week. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Stephanie Potter

    This sounds SO delicious, I will have to make some this weekend. This screams comfort food. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I have one waiting for me for lunch…and I can hardly wait! 😉

Leave a Reply

