First Father’s Day

I had big plans for Father’s Day. Most of them dreamed up while nursed in the middle of the night. I really want Father’s Day to be a “big deal” in our house, especially since Gary’s birthday is on Christmas day, and he is a twin. (So in other words it would be nice to have a day that is just about him.) I imagined a lovely picnic with all sorts of treats and hand-made goodies. But there were a few logistical problems in getting ready for this first Father’s Day, namely the baby!

But we managed to get our cards made, and I was pretty pleased about that since we had to snatch moments here and there.

I made a onesie for Ruth to wear. I was hoping to do a nicely decorated onesie but the fabric markers let me down so I had to just stick with something simple. Still, it gets the message across!

And then this morning Ruth and I ran out to pick up some chocolate croissants for breakfast. Ruth was cooperative, though as soon as we returned she began to be a bit vocal: forget Daddy’s breakfast, what about MINE??  (second breakfast, that is!)

Daddy  had to make the coffee and clean up all the breakfast things while Ruth had yet ANOTHER snack. But hey, I guess that’s fatherhood! Anyway, we hope he knows we love him!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Celebrations, Uncategorized

One response to “First Father’s Day

  1. So sweet of you to put in the extra effort especially with such a little one!

Leave a Reply

