Roasted Tomatoes

Last year I canned tomatoes. It went well, but was a LOT of work. This year we have freezer space so I decided to freeze some. For this first batch I simply hulled the tomatoes, cut them in half and arranged them in a roasting pan. Then I drizzled them with olive oil and put them in the oven to roast slowly. (you will find recipes for roasted tomatoes online that call for  10-12 hours at a low heat, and I’m sure these are amazing but I just did mine for around 3)

I got three meal-sized bags out  of literally five minutes work, so it seemed worth it. I’m hoping they will impart a yummy summer flavour to some winter meals.

2 Comments

Filed under food, gardening

2 responses to “Roasted Tomatoes

  1. Nancy Bird

    Oven roasting brings out such a rich flavour!
    Bravo,
    Nancy

  2. Nancy Bird

    P.S.: Lining the pan with parchment paper makes the clean-up a breeze too.
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

