Fermentation Experimentation

I have become very excited about fermentation. You may remember that last year I tried my hand at sauerkraut. At the time, I had only a cursory description in a book and, gasp, no internet access, so I was a little short on details and subsequently failed at my first attempt. So this year, with an eye on the cabbages in the garden, I began to read more about it, and discovered a whole world of food fermentation. I managed to get a copy of Sandor Katz’s Wild Fermentation from the library but have also been finding loads of info online.

Unlike canning, fermentation techniques seem to invite experimentation, and make diving right in seem incredibly simple. So, that’s what I did. I started with some grated zucchini with a little onion and garlic. The result, though not prize-winning, was definitely tasty. Onwards! Now there are three jars bubbling away; banana peppers, sauerkraut and a jar of zucchini and dill pickles. And all of this fermentation reminded me of sourdough bread, so I am also nurturing a starter in a crock.

I’ll have to wait until I can do some taste tests to truly know the results of all this, but I am very optimistic. And I’m eager to get more jars filled and learn more about fermentation.

Leave a comment

Filed under food, gardening, making

Leave a Reply

